The rise of adult-use marijuana retail stores in California has jump-started something of a cultural revolution. People who have just turned 21, middle aged moms and dads, and senior citizens alike are all coming to weed dispensaries in search of recreation, discomfort relief, or just out of curiosity.
It opens a lot of questions. Where do I get the premier recreational marijuana near my location in Orange County? How old do I have to be to enter a shop? What are the top things to buy at a cannabis store? What states allow the sale of recreational marijuana?
In the following article, we’ll give you the answers to all these questions and tell you what to expect from your first visit to a weed shop. Read on!
How old do you have to be to go inside a dispensary?
Only legal adults are allowed to enter a store that sells recreational cannabis in California. This means that you must be able to prove you’re 21 years old or older, so bring your identification card or driver’s license. Without an ID, you won’t be allowed to go inside the store or buy anything.
Also, just because you’re 21 it doesn’t mean that you can now smoke weed anywhere you like. California state laws limit marijuana usage to private residences. Sadly, that means you’re not yet allowed to smoke while strolling through a park or down the West Orange Trail.
Luckily, certain public places use special ordinances that permit tobacco and marijuana smoking on the premises. These awesome cannabis lounges are purpose-made to enable you to relax and enjoy yourself in the company of your fellow cannabis enthusiasts.
Can you enter a dispensary under 21?
You’re legally not allowed to be inside a marijuana dispensary in California unless you are at least 21 years of age and able to produce an ID. However, there are exceptions. If you’re at least 18 years old, you can still buy cannabis as long as you can show a medical recommendation.
This way, young adults who suffer from health conditions that require symptom relief, or athletes who need CBD-based products to aid their post-workout recovery can still buy the cannabis products they require.
Can you enter a dispensary without a card?
No. Security within a dispensary is a very serious matter, so the moment you enter a cannabis store you will be asked to show some kind of an identification. If you don’t have an ID, you will be asked to leave.
That being said, satisfying the ID requirement for entering a weed shop isn’t difficult. Aside from personal ID, Orange County dispensaries will also accept driver’s licenses and, if you’re traveling from another country, passports as well. For added security, some stores may ask you to show your ID once again at the point of sale.
You will need to interact with a budtender
As a customer at a marijuana dispensary, you will be interacting with a budtender throughout your buying experience. A budtender is a weed store employee whose job it is to answer your questions, inform you about the different cannabis products available, and recommend something that will fit your needs and tastes.
This is not to say that you can’t make an informed decision without a budtender’s help. Dispensaries must supply strain name, warnings, ingredients, contaminants testing, license number, batch number, and potency levels for all marijuana products for sale in the store.
Doing a little online research never hurts
The internet contains a wealth of information on all sorts of topics, and you can rest assured that weed is one of them. You can also find helpful organizations such as Weed for Good, which provides free medical marijuana and education to chronically or terminally ill patients. At the end of the day, however, nothing beats personal experience.
You’ll probably have to wait a bit
After entering a cannabis shop and providing your ID, you will usually be asked to take a seat and wait for the first free budtender to attend you. You’ll also likely have to wait for your turn at the counter. This is standard industry practice, as regulations often compel weed stores to only serve one patron at a time.
As a newcomer to the wonderful world of marijuana dispensaries, you can use this time to look around. There’s no reason to rush things. Use the waiting period to acquaint yourself with the various products at display, ask questions, and talk to your fellow weed enthusiasts. Relax and make the most out of your shopping experience.
The selection may seem overwhelming
More often than not, large marijuana dispensaries stock multiple strains of top quality marijuana flower, a huge variety of edibles and concentrates, and an entire array of medicinal weed products. There are also many weed-smoking accessories to consider, such as grinders and bongs.
California laws limit the amount of cannabis you can buy in one day to a single ounce, or 8 grams of concentrate. While one ounce of weed is enough for a few dozen joints, there are certain edibles, like cannabis butter, that come in large containers that can have more concentrate than the permitted 8 grams.
Don’t be in a rush to buy the first cannabis product that catches your eye. Carefully consider what’s available, and how much you can buy, and plan the day’s shopping accordingly. After all, you can always return the next day and buy more stuff.
What’s the finest recreational dispensary near me in Orange County?
Want to ensure that your first marijuana dispensary experience is as fun, educational, and productive as it can be? Then pay a visit to People’s OC. We are proud to call ourselves the largest and best place to get recreational weed in Orange County. Our spacious premises and extensive offering of cannabis items is unparalleled in California.
In addition to that, we have a personable, experienced team of budtenders who are eager to give you all the information and guidance you need. Come by our store, or acquaint yourself with our stock through our online catalog. We can’t wait to become your go-to marijuana shop in Orange County.